“I use it (the cape) to capture the hearts of the sons of Adam.”

Abdu’l-Rahiman Ibn Ziyad Ibn An’um said: ‘While [Prophet] Musa (‘alayhis salaam) was in a gathering, Iblees came wearing a hooded cape that changed in colors. When the devil came nearer he took off the cape and set it down and came to Musa saying: ‘Peace be upon you.’ Musa replied: ‘Who are you?’ He said: ‘I am Iblees.’ Musa responded: ‘No greetings from Allah to you, what brought you here?’ The devil said: ‘I came to greet you because of your high godly status.’ Musa said: ‘What have I seen you wearing?’ Iblees replied: ‘I use it (the cape) to capture the hearts of the sons of Adam.’ Musa asked: ‘What is it that if a human does will enable you to take him over?’ He replied: ‘If he becomes fond of himself, and considered his (good) deeds plentiful.

I warn you from three things:

First, never be alone with a woman that is not lawful to you. Because whenever someone does so, I personally accompany him and use her to seduce him.

Second, never promise Allah something except that you fulfill your promise. Whenever someone promises Allah something I personally accompany him to prevent him from fulfilling his promise.

And never take an amount of money to give charity except that you make sure you give it to that charity.Whenever someone takes an amount of money to give to charity, I personally accompany him to persuade him not to give it.’ Then Iblees walked away saying: ‘Woe to me, thrice, I have taught [Prophet] Musa from what to warn the sons of Adam.’ [Ibn AbI al-Dunya in Maka’d al-Shaytaan, 1 1 /47]

Ibn al-Jawzi Rahimahullah
Tablis Iblis – The Devil’s Deceptions Page 75

Leave a comment