When two Shaytaans met !

Ibn Abee ad-Dunya (رحمه الله) quoted one of the pious predecessors as saying: “A shaytaan met another shaytaan and asked him: ‘Why do I see you pale?’ He replied: ‘I am with a man who mentions the Name of Allaah when he starts eating, so I am unable to eat with him. When he drinks he mentions the Name of Allaah so I am unable to drink with him. When he enters his house he mentions the Name of Allaah, therefore, I am forced to pass the night outside his house.’ The other shaytaan said: ‘I am appointed to a man who does not mention the name of Allaah when he starts eating, so I join him in eating. When he drinks he does not mention the Name of Allaah and I share drink with him. When he reaches his house he enters without mentioning the Name of Allaah and I enter with him. When he intends to have intercourse with his wife he does not remember Allaah, so I become his partner in the intercourse.
[‘Abdur-Razzaaq, 19560]
Quoted by Ibnul Qayyim رحمه الله in his book ‘Uddat us-Saabireen wa Dhaakirat ash-Shaakireen’

Leave a comment